Les Histoires

As many of you may know, I am also a French major. It is my goal to be fluent in French one day, and this semester I’ve found that I’m slowly getting there. One of the requirements for my French class this semester is that we write one-page journal entries. I’ve decided to publish the first journal entry I wrote, just to convey my passion for French. I edited it as per my professor’s comments, because I don’t like publishing things that aren’t perfect. However, I got an A-, so there weren’t too many corrections, about which I was pleased.

This is about how much I love reading and telling stories.

Moi, j’aime beaucoup de choses. Notamment, j’aime les histoires. Je veux écrire des histoires; je veux lire des histoires, de fiction et de nonfiction. C’est pourquoi je veux être journaliste. Je pense que le rôle des journalistes et des écrivains est très important: de raconter des histoires au public.

Les histoires de fiction peuvent être aussi réelles que les histoires de nonfiction. La fiction inspire les gens. Si un écrivain a du talent, il peut illustrer la nature humaine d’une manière qui enseigne aux gens sur eux-mêmes. Un écrivain peut représenter les motifs réels des gens dans une histoire qui n’est pas nécessairement réelle.

Les histoires de nonfiction, particulièrement les articles des journalistes, sont très importantes pour comprendre le monde. La public sait ce qui se passe à travers des articles sur le gouvernement, l’education et le crime. Le journalisme défend la démocratie. Les journalistes tiennent les gens informés.

Les histoires, les romans, les articles et les livres sont très importants. Comment pourrions-nous apprendre sur nous-mêmes et sur le monde? Les mots que les gens ont écrits il y a longtemps préservent l’histoire et la culture. Les histoires sont une partie importante de l’art. Rien ne représente les emotions des gens comme l’écrit. J’écris pour les gens et j’écris pour moi-même. L’acte d’écrire est une bonne thérapie.

Le français, je t’aime,

Emily

P.S. To read a translation of this post, click here.

About Emily

I tend to embody the definition of "first world problems," so one night when I knew I needed to shower but didn't want to--in true first-world fashion--I created this blog. There were ulterior motives, however. I'm a journalism and french major at Mercer University, which means I enjoy writing (and France, apparently). I also like to think that I'm witty, and that the world needs to hear (or, rather, read) my wit. "La Vie, Selon Emily" means "Life, According to Emily." Emily, being myself. Now that that's out of the way, who is Emily? Funny you should ask, because I've made a short list: I was raised in the Georgia suburbs on a beautiful little thing they call "sarcasm." My parents taught me at a young age to appreciate this age-old art, and I like to think I've mastered their craft. I'm also quite the girly girl: Disney princesses were my childhood, and dressing up is my favorite. Despite whatever conclusions you may have drawn from #2, yellow, not pink, is my favorite color. I love commas, and feel that I use them too liberally. I love thinking and learning new things, and I love making others think and learn new things. I am a voracious reader, and I love the word "voracious." I just realized that I've used the word "love" entirely too much thus far. I sing in the shower. I sing in the car. I pretty much sing a lot, and I like to think I'm decent at it. If you give me grape juice, I'll be your friend. I will also be your friend if you love on me (examples include giving me a hug, rubbing my back or arm, playing with my hair, cuddling with me, etc.). I have two mottos in life: Any dress with pockets is a dress worth having, and any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating (I will acknowledge that there are exceptions to these rules, as with all rules). Semi-finally, but most importantly, I am an utterly depraved sinner saved by God's unfailing grace and love. I will leave you with this french proverb: "A l'œuvre, on connaît l'artisan."
This entry was posted in French and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Les Histoires

  1. Le Clown says:

    Bonjour Emily,
    Bien joué, l’amie ! Tu as quatre petites coquilles…
    (sens toi bien à l’aise d’effacer ce courriel suite à ta lecture)…
    1. Un écrivain peut représenter les motifs réels
    2. Les histoires de nonfiction, particulièrement les articles des journalistes, sont très importantes… (s’accorde avec histoires;
    3. Les mots que les gens ont écrits (participe passé employé avec L’auxiliaire avoir s’accorde avec le complément d’object direct s’il est placé avant le verbe—dans ta phrase: mots.
    Voilà! Bon travail. Et comme je te dis, n’hésite pas à effacer le commentaire une fois lu.
    Le Clown

    • Emily says:

      Merci, Le Clown! Je savais que je pouvais compter sur votre aide. Je n’effacerai pas votre commentaire, parce que j’apprends encore le français. Je veux être fluent, donc j’aime les critiques. Merci encore pour votre aide! –Emily

      • Le Clown says:

        Emily,
        Thank you. And it was really just to give you a few pointers, and not to be a douche. You have a French that is much better than many of my French native-speaking friends…
        Le Clown

      • Emily says:

        Haha, yes I know you were being helpful! I would much rather be corrected than butcher a language I love. (:

  2. barbarafarlow says:

    Emily, I am so proud of you. I know that this says something wonderful, I just cannot understand it. Doesn’t matter, you wrote it, therefore it is great! Love, Me Mom

    ________________________________

  3. Connie Lotze says:

    Please do translation post. I love reading your work. It is alway GREAT!!! thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

