Folk Bands vs. A Capella Groups

One great question has plagued me lately:

Would I rather be in a folk band or an A Capella group?

Both are equally appealing. And, admittedly, equally unlikely. But these are the things I think about when my mind is idle. A girl can dream, can’t she? I have decided to analyze each genre in this blog post. Maybe it will help me make up my mind. Maybe you, faithful reader, can help me decide. Or maybe I just like to show off my musical prowess. I’ll let you decide that one as well.

Folk Band

Everyone loves the sound of a stringed instrument, and folk bands can have so many kinds of stringed instruments! Guitar, bajo, mandolin, fiddle etc. And you know what sounds great with stringed instruments? Harmonies, that’s what. Harmonies are one of my favorite things, and folk bands can produce beautiful harmony. Just listen to Branches, my new folk-music obsession:

(By the way, check out their original stuff. Brilliant.)

Another thing folk bands have in plenty? Hipsters. And we all know how much hipsters intrigue me. If I was in a folk band, I could wear all the flannel I want, and no one would question it. “Hey, why are you wearing so much flannel?” “Um, I’m in a folk band, duh.” “Oh, that totally makes sense.” Just like that. I could also wear vintage clothes and not brush my hair (I would still brush my hair).

Mustaches also intrigue me, and men with mustaches are usually in folk bands.

Then there’s Marcus Mumford’s angry singing voice, which is enough in and of itself to make me want to be in a folk band.

A Capella Group

Remember how I said I love harmonies? A Capella groups are rife with harmonies. Beautiful harmonies! A Capella groups and their beautiful harmonies are one of the things that make me cry. I also get goosebumps. Arrangements like this cause in me strong emotional and physical reactions:

Plus A Capella groups make pop music so much more bearable. They also make me want to dance. So fun. I guess I could still dress like a hipster if I was in an A Capella group. The hipster knows no bounds.

Alas, I’m in neither a folk band nor an A Capella group. So for now, I shall have to be satisfied with singing in the shower which probably annoys everyone who lives in my apartment building.

C’est le ton qui fait la chanson,

Emily

P.S. So what do you think? Folk band, or A Capella group? Or I actually have this dream that I end up on broadway one day. What about that?

About Emily

I tend to embody the definition of "first world problems," so one night when I knew I needed to shower but didn't want to--in true first-world fashion--I created this blog. There were ulterior motives, however. I'm a journalism and french major at Mercer University, which means I enjoy writing (and France, apparently). I also like to think that I'm witty, and that the world needs to hear (or, rather, read) my wit. "La Vie, Selon Emily" means "Life, According to Emily." Emily, being myself. Now that that's out of the way, who is Emily? Funny you should ask, because I've made a short list: I was raised in the Georgia suburbs on a beautiful little thing they call "sarcasm." My parents taught me at a young age to appreciate this age-old art, and I like to think I've mastered their craft. I'm also quite the girly girl: Disney princesses were my childhood, and dressing up is my favorite. Despite whatever conclusions you may have drawn from #2, yellow, not pink, is my favorite color. I love commas, and feel that I use them too liberally. I love thinking and learning new things, and I love making others think and learn new things. I am a voracious reader, and I love the word "voracious." I just realized that I've used the word "love" entirely too much thus far. I sing in the shower. I sing in the car. I pretty much sing a lot, and I like to think I'm decent at it. If you give me grape juice, I'll be your friend. I will also be your friend if you love on me (examples include giving me a hug, rubbing my back or arm, playing with my hair, cuddling with me, etc.). I have two mottos in life: Any dress with pockets is a dress worth having, and any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating (I will acknowledge that there are exceptions to these rules, as with all rules). Semi-finally, but most importantly, I am an utterly depraved sinner saved by God's unfailing grace and love. I will leave you with this french proverb: "A l'œuvre, on connaît l'artisan."
This entry was posted in Silly and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

