I Am (Or Rather, My Blog Is) Lovely!

While I’ve known this fact for quite a while, it seems that other people are finally realizing how lovely I am my blog is. Yes, it’s true. I have been nominated for the One Lovely Blogger Award. The rules are as follows:

Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
Nominate fifteen or so bloggers you admire.
Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know and link back to them.

Chris, over at Anxiety and Biscuits, so very kindly nominated me for said award, and for that I say “thank you.” A thousand times thank you, and all other hyperbolic expressions of thanks! Dear Christopher (may I call you Christopher? I’m only assuming Chris is short for a longer name. Perhaps it is Christof?) is a very witty British blogger whose posts about over-analyzing everyday situations leave me in stitches. Those who know me personally know that I have a deep love for England and all things British, based on unrealistic expectations of their fabulous country and accent. To be honored by a Brit is an honor (or should I say “honour?”) indeed!

Now on to seven possibly unknown things about myself:

  1. I knit and crochet. Yes, I know it’s a grandmotherly sport, but I consider myself an old soul. I’m not very good at crafts, and am thereby judged by other females (who ever met a girl who isn’t crafty?). However, knitting and crocheting are two crafts I excel at, and I love them dearly. I plan on posting about things I have made one day.
  2. I like organization and organizing things. This doesn’t necessarily mean my room has to be clean and tidy all the time (because it isn’t), but I love things like lists, school supplies, putting things in alphabetical order etc.
  3. Though born and raised in the south, I never liked sweet tea until this year, during my spring semester of college.
  4. I love reading, but it’s taking me all summer to finish Return of the King, by J.R.R. Tolkien… Thus, I am discouraged.
  5. I love eating. Like, a lot. My 5’4″ stature and 98 lb. frame may not suggest so, but it’s true. I also like to cook/bake.
  6. Zombies and the prospect of the Zombie Apocalypse fascinate me.
  7. I hate camping. Do not make me go camping. I will not be the idiomatic “happy camper.”

I will try my best to name 15 deserving bloggers, but let’s face it, who is more deserving than me? (Of course I’m being facetious! The truth is I may not even follow 15 blogs. I haven’t counted.)

  1. http://larryfarlow.com/ – This is my daddy’s blog about books. I love him, so that’s why he’s on this list. My dad is pretty smart.
  2. http://gojulesgo.com/ – I’m sure you have all heard of/are already following Julie’s blog. She has like, a bajillion followers because she’s so awesome. Her posts are super fun and cute, and her affinity for mustaches and chipmunks is pretty sweet.
  3. http://dequelleplaneteestu.com/ – The francophile in me loves Meg’s blog. Her pictures are beautiful, and I like to live my life vicariously through her Paris-living self.
  4. http://listfulthinking.wordpress.com/ – Refer to number two in the “seven possibly unknown things about me” section, and you will see why Stephanie’s blog is lovely. Plus, she’s hilarious.
  5. http://into-mind.com/ – Anuschka’s blog is very insightful. I’m loving her series about creating a wardrobe that lasts.
  6. http://stylesprite.com/ – Speaking of clothes, I love them entirely too much. That’s why Chloe’s blog is so wonderful. I love her style and her awesome red hair!
  7. http://thebyronicman.com/ – I have not been following The Byronic Man for very long, but his blog is ingeniously witty. And you all know how I feel about wit…
  8. http://knitthehellout.com/ – I love looking at and reading about the projects Cassandra completes. She also blogs about yarn, and I just love yarn! She even has some beautiful patterns of her own available on Ravelry.
  9. http://livenerddierepeat.wordpress.com/ – Basically awesomeness in blog-form.
  10. http://getsecondlunch.com/ – Much like number nine. I just love pictures with funny captions.

There’s an even 10 quality blogs! They all deserve this “lovely” award, so go read their well-thought-out writings.

Tout vient à point qui peut attendre,

Emily

About Emily

I tend to embody the definition of "first world problems," so one night when I knew I needed to shower but didn't want to--in true first-world fashion--I created this blog. There were ulterior motives, however. I'm a journalism and french major at Mercer University, which means I enjoy writing (and France, apparently). I also like to think that I'm witty, and that the world needs to hear (or, rather, read) my wit. "La Vie, Selon Emily" means "Life, According to Emily." Emily, being myself. Now that that's out of the way, who is Emily? Funny you should ask, because I've made a short list: I was raised in the Georgia suburbs on a beautiful little thing they call "sarcasm." My parents taught me at a young age to appreciate this age-old art, and I like to think I've mastered their craft. I'm also quite the girly girl: Disney princesses were my childhood, and dressing up is my favorite. Despite whatever conclusions you may have drawn from #2, yellow, not pink, is my favorite color. I love commas, and feel that I use them too liberally. I love thinking and learning new things, and I love making others think and learn new things. I am a voracious reader, and I love the word "voracious." I just realized that I've used the word "love" entirely too much thus far. I sing in the shower. I sing in the car. I pretty much sing a lot, and I like to think I'm decent at it. If you give me grape juice, I'll be your friend. I will also be your friend if you love on me (examples include giving me a hug, rubbing my back or arm, playing with my hair, cuddling with me, etc.). I have two mottos in life: Any dress with pockets is a dress worth having, and any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating (I will acknowledge that there are exceptions to these rules, as with all rules). Semi-finally, but most importantly, I am an utterly depraved sinner saved by God's unfailing grace and love. I will leave you with this french proverb: "A l'œuvre, on connaît l'artisan."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Am (Or Rather, My Blog Is) Lovely!

  1. Erica says:

    LOL The whole time I was reading this, I could hear your voice in my head like you were reading it to me XD

  2. Go Jules Go says:

    Congratulations, Emily! Between this award and your metabolism, I’d say you’re one lucky chica! 😉

    Thank you so much for the nomination – that is so sweet! And I am in really good company here. Stephanie (Listful Thinking) was the first blogger I ever followed – she made me realize having a blog could be awesome. She is SO funny. And of course you know how I feel about the almighty Byronic Man!

    I think we can just agree you have fabulous taste. And I promise never to take you camping. If you promise never to make me crochet. (Actually, I might like that. But I need a free hand for my drink.)

  3. You may call me whatever you like, Emily, although my full name is indeed Christopher. I will answer to pretty much anything you care to yell across a car park at me though. Thank you for the kind words; if I can raise even a small chuckle then the day is a success.

    Excellent choices blogwise, particularly the above GoJulesGo. She is, of course quite legendary, and gave me my very first blog compliment, for which I am eternally grateful.

    • Emily says:

      Sometimes I wish Emily was short for something. Or that it leant itself to cool nicknames… But alas, it’s either Emily or “Em.”

      Despite my lack of a cool nickname, I, too, think they are excellent choices. GoJulesGo is even following me on Twitter now, so basically my life rocks.

Leave a Reply

