Accidentally Falling Asleep, According To Emily

An alternate title for this post could be: Purposefully Falling Asleep, According To Emily. Because sometimes you plan naps, and sometimes they sneak-attack you.

Even though I usually wake up disoriented and sometimes panicky, I relish napping (intentional or otherwise). Once the initial shock of waking up has passed, I’m in a much better mood after I’ve napped. Imagine if everyone took a nap every day. People would be much more pleasant.

The problem is, I sleep like I’m dead. And like I died quickly. Much like dead people, it’s also hard to wake me. Waking me up in the middle of a nap can lead to dreadful consequences such as incomprehensible text messages, lack of concentration and emotional instability.

In order to remedy these side-effects, I usually go back to sleep if I wake up from a nap. Unfortunately this results in naps lasting upwards of two hours. Then, of course, I’m unable to sleep at night when I’m supposed to, resulting in a tiring following day, leading to more naps… And the vicious (but somehow beautiful) cycle continues. Sleeping in the middle of the day is much more satisfying than sleeping at night.

Here is a look at my nighttime logic:

“Dang, it’s late. I should probably go to sleep, because I have to wake up early tomorrow.”

“But I have so much homework to do (ok, ok… I have so much socializing to do).”

“You’re right. I can always take a nap tomorrow.”

“Deal.”

No matter how busy I am, if I’m tired I’ll usually make time for a nap. Whether I decide to make time myself, or my brain forces me to make time by causing me to fall asleep while doing my assigned reading.

I often wake up with my computer open in front of me, hands still on the keyboard, and realize I fell asleep while watching knitting videos on YouTube (What, you don’t do that? All the cool kids are watching fiber arts videos these days…). I’m always frustrated on the surface. Dang it… I fell asleep again. But at the same time, I feel so rested and pleasant. I may complain about accidentally taking naps, but secretly I enjoy it.

In fact, it happens so much that my mom said one day: “You know, I came home from work today and everyone was where they should be: your brothers playing video/computer games, and you on your bed. Asleep.” If me being asleep is part of someone’s everyday routine, I should probably reexamine my daily schedule. I’m not even in school right now. How can I keep being so tired everyday that naps are inevitable? I don’t even do that much…

I never appreciated naps until I went to college, but now I understand their worth. I’m a growing girl. My body needs rest if I’m to grow taller (Ok, fine. I know I’ll stay short the rest of my life…).

Il ne faut pas réveiller le chat qui dort,

Emily


About Emily

I tend to embody the definition of "first world problems," so one night when I knew I needed to shower but didn't want to--in true first-world fashion--I created this blog. There were ulterior motives, however. I'm a journalism and french major at Mercer University, which means I enjoy writing (and France, apparently). I also like to think that I'm witty, and that the world needs to hear (or, rather, read) my wit. "La Vie, Selon Emily" means "Life, According to Emily." Emily, being myself. Now that that's out of the way, who is Emily? Funny you should ask, because I've made a short list: I was raised in the Georgia suburbs on a beautiful little thing they call "sarcasm." My parents taught me at a young age to appreciate this age-old art, and I like to think I've mastered their craft. I'm also quite the girly girl: Disney princesses were my childhood, and dressing up is my favorite. Despite whatever conclusions you may have drawn from #2, yellow, not pink, is my favorite color. I love commas, and feel that I use them too liberally. I love thinking and learning new things, and I love making others think and learn new things. I am a voracious reader, and I love the word "voracious." I just realized that I've used the word "love" entirely too much thus far. I sing in the shower. I sing in the car. I pretty much sing a lot, and I like to think I'm decent at it. If you give me grape juice, I'll be your friend. I will also be your friend if you love on me (examples include giving me a hug, rubbing my back or arm, playing with my hair, cuddling with me, etc.). I have two mottos in life: Any dress with pockets is a dress worth having, and any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating (I will acknowledge that there are exceptions to these rules, as with all rules). Semi-finally, but most importantly, I am an utterly depraved sinner saved by God's unfailing grace and love. I will leave you with this french proverb: "A l'œuvre, on connaît l'artisan."
This entry was posted in Silly and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Accidentally Falling Asleep, According To Emily

  1. idiotprufs says:

    I love naps, but never have the time.

  2. There’s nothing more satisfying than that first nap after an all-nighter to get your study work handed in, so I wouldn’t lose any sleep over it! (Ba-dum-tsh!)

    In other news, I have been lucky enough to be the recipient of a WordPress Blogging Award, and it would be the height of rudeness for me to not extend the honour immediately to you, because you deserve it, although I daresay you’ve already seen it! I hope you’ll accept with gravitas and aplomb, because these things are like gold dust.

    http://anxietyandbiscuits.com/2012/07/14/officially-lovely/

    • Emily says:

      Um, basically this is the greatest thing ever. Thanks so much! I’d also like to thank you for using the word “daresay,” because when I imitate Brits (which I do very well. Out of love, of course.), or when I imagine British people talking (which is a lot…) I say/imagine the word “daresay.”

      I daresay I shall begin the homework involved in accepting such a prestigious award! (see what I did there?)

Leave a Reply

