Exercising, According To Emily

(Confession: It took me at least five tries to spell “exercising” correctly… I am not proud of this fact…)

I’d really rather not, thanks though…

Historically, I do not exercise. At all. Not even a little bit. Perhaps that’s why I can’t spell “exercise” and the variations thereof.

However, this summer I decided I needed to start exercising so I wouldn’t be the first to die in the Hunger Games. I also want to be like a character in an action movie (who needs rom-coms anyway?).

And, let’s be honest, running is rather glamorous. Pinterest is filled with pictures of running women looking awesome and all-around hard-core.

I run so fast, words can’t keep up with me.

With these unrealistic expectations about running and a healthy overestimation of skill and endurance firmly planted in my mind, I started my running regimen. The idea was to train myself to enjoy running, because I loath it. Only because it makes me feel like I’m dying, though. Once I stopped feeling like death himself I could run regularly and just be awesome in general.

This lasted about a week. I blame it on the oppressive heat and the relentless hills in my neighborhood. Plus my mother said I shouldn’t do something I hate, as I wouldn’t keep up with it. Thanks for supporting my mediocrity, Mama! (That wasn’t sarcasm. I’m seriously thankful she helped me stop running.)

I found Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred in our basement. This would be the perfect replacement!

Spoiler Alert: You don’t look like this after one 20 minute work out. Who knew?

First of all, can we just talk about the name? Thirty Day Shred? The word “shred” doesn’t exactly have a positive connotation. Yes, I’d like to get “shredded” please. No… No, Jillian. I don’t wan’t to get “shredded.” I’d like to stay whole, thank you.

Moving along…

I started with level one and promptly felt like I was going to die. It was terrible. But for some reason I kept putting myself through the torture. Eventually I could make it through the workout without feeling like I was on my way to the grave. I was simply on my way to the hospital, with good chance of recovery. Albeit a long recovery. I decided I was ready for level two.

Level two, as the name would suggest, is harder than level one. So, I’m back to feeling like dying. I hate it, but I keep finding myself night after night doing everything Jillian tells me for 20 minutes. How did I get here? Why am I doing this? I thought I hated it… I think I hate it differently than I hate running. I hate running like a young girl hates Justin Bieber’s girlfriend (Is it still Selena Gomez?), but I hate Jillian’s workout like a business man hates his office job. It’s a more refined hate. It’s a hate that says “This may be awful, but I can power through. I’ve got kids to feed!” Though I do not, in fact, have kids to feed.

So I keep doing the 30 Day Shred, and consequently I utterly hate myself every night for 20 minutes.

Little does Jillian know, I’ve found a solution!

Mountain Man Hiker photo courtesy appalachianjake.wordpress.com

That’s right ladies and gentlemen, I’ve decided to become a hiker (sans beard, unkempt hair and flannel). Trail hiking, to be more specific. I am in no way interested in falling to my death. That’s real hiking. Pseudo-hiking is more my speed.

I figured I bought these expensive Chacos, so I might as well use them for what they were intended (which, apparently, is hiking, and not looking like your stereotypical college student). I also like mild-mannered adventures, and being outdoors will be good for me. You know, with the sun’s vitamin D and all. Picnics. Picnics are another good reason for hiking.

As I can’t very well hike every day (I currently have a painful blister on my foot from the last time I went hiking. My little feet need time to heal before I get all outdoorsy again), I’ve decided to 30-Day-Shred-It on the days I don’t walk around admiring nature. Eventually there will be more hiking and less Jillian. I feel it’s a good compromise.

I think the reason I like hiking is because it’s a secret workout. My mind thinks I’m just taking a pleasant stroll through the forest on a slight incline, but my muscles are in fact being toned. Zumba is another good secret workout. And Jazzercise (mostly because I have a strange fascination with the ’80s).

So I guess if I want to keep working out, I’ll need to be covert about it. Which will really help with my action-hero aspirations. It will also help in the event we become a dystopian society where young adults fight to the death in a caged arena for the amusement of those in power (though if the cut-off age is 18, I’m in the clear).

Il faut être matelot avant d’être capitaine,

Emily
About Emily

I tend to embody the definition of "first world problems," so one night when I knew I needed to shower but didn't want to--in true first-world fashion--I created this blog. There were ulterior motives, however. I'm a journalism and french major at Mercer University, which means I enjoy writing (and France, apparently). I also like to think that I'm witty, and that the world needs to hear (or, rather, read) my wit. "La Vie, Selon Emily" means "Life, According to Emily." Emily, being myself. Now that that's out of the way, who is Emily? Funny you should ask, because I've made a short list: I was raised in the Georgia suburbs on a beautiful little thing they call "sarcasm." My parents taught me at a young age to appreciate this age-old art, and I like to think I've mastered their craft. I'm also quite the girly girl: Disney princesses were my childhood, and dressing up is my favorite. Despite whatever conclusions you may have drawn from #2, yellow, not pink, is my favorite color. I love commas, and feel that I use them too liberally. I love thinking and learning new things, and I love making others think and learn new things. I am a voracious reader, and I love the word "voracious." I just realized that I've used the word "love" entirely too much thus far. I sing in the shower. I sing in the car. I pretty much sing a lot, and I like to think I'm decent at it. If you give me grape juice, I'll be your friend. I will also be your friend if you love on me (examples include giving me a hug, rubbing my back or arm, playing with my hair, cuddling with me, etc.). I have two mottos in life: Any dress with pockets is a dress worth having, and any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating (I will acknowledge that there are exceptions to these rules, as with all rules). Semi-finally, but most importantly, I am an utterly depraved sinner saved by God's unfailing grace and love. I will leave you with this french proverb: "A l'œuvre, on connaît l'artisan."
This entry was posted in Silly and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exercising, According To Emily

  1. Saraboy says:

    Hello there. I don’t know if this comment is of any use, but I’d just like to encourage people in general not to do any workout that you hate (just like your mum said). I think that if you do sports you think are super boring all that will happen is that you start loathing workout in general, which is a pity since it’s so good for mind and body. I hated all kind of sports and sucked on especially soccer and other sports including balls in school. Also, I wanted to die rather than go running. So I just assumed that working out was “not for me”. Then however, I started doing martial arts and I have for 10 years or so. I’ve switched between different martial arts and since some years it’s all kickboxing for me. Since it’s so extremely fun I don’t mind getting all sweaty and totally exhausted while doing that. I used to hate running too, but now I sometimes enjoy it if I know that it will improve my kickboxing performance or if it’s just before a match or so. So… basically, keep looking until you find some sport that you love! I hope that hiking will be that sport for you! =)

    • Emily says:

      Thank you so much for commenting! I’m glad you found something you enjoy, and I hope I will too! Thanks also for the encouragement; it really helps! (Because I didn’t feel like working out last night… so I didn’t. Haha!)

Leave a Reply

