Some Lessons on Life, According to Emily

I have lived 19 years on this earth (20 in November!). I like to think that makes me pretty wise. I’ve accumulated many a life lesson in my 19 long years, and I’ve decided to share a few of them with you. No need to thank me; imparting wisdom is just one of the many things that bring me joy.

  1. Any dress (or skirt) with pockets is a dress (or skirt) worth having.*
  2. Likewise, any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating.*
  3. Good toilette paper is toilette paper you can’t see through.
  4. Lip balm is a necessity for life.
  5. If you don’t know how to do something, look it up on YouTube. You can learn everything on YouTube.
  6. Naps may well be one of God’s greatest gifts to man.
  7. Shopping at thrift stores is shopping at its finest.
  8. Buying books is one of life’s greatest pleasures. Heck, just looking at and touching books (ok… and smelling them) is one of life’s greatest pleasures.
  9. Shoe shopping is infinitely more fun after a pedicure.
  10. Waffle House is a college kid’s best (and most delicious) friend. Taco Bell is a close second.
  11. Johnson’s Baby Cream cures literally everything. Possibly even broken bones.
  12. You can wear something more than once before it actually needs to be washed.
  13. Sometimes, if you just shake your clothes out, they really don’t need ironing (Sorry, mother).
  14. The most satisfying meal is fourthmeal (Not necessarily at Taco Bell. See #10 for my preference).

*These two can be found on the About Emily page.

I’m sure I have more wisdom, but I can’t share everything at once. It’s good to keep people on their toes. What are some quirky life lessons you’ve learned?

À cheval donné on ne regarde pas les dents,

Emily

About Emily

I tend to embody the definition of "first world problems," so one night when I knew I needed to shower but didn't want to--in true first-world fashion--I created this blog. There were ulterior motives, however. I'm a journalism and french major at Mercer University, which means I enjoy writing (and France, apparently). I also like to think that I'm witty, and that the world needs to hear (or, rather, read) my wit. "La Vie, Selon Emily" means "Life, According to Emily." Emily, being myself. Now that that's out of the way, who is Emily? Funny you should ask, because I've made a short list: I was raised in the Georgia suburbs on a beautiful little thing they call "sarcasm." My parents taught me at a young age to appreciate this age-old art, and I like to think I've mastered their craft. I'm also quite the girly girl: Disney princesses were my childhood, and dressing up is my favorite. Despite whatever conclusions you may have drawn from #2, yellow, not pink, is my favorite color. I love commas, and feel that I use them too liberally. I love thinking and learning new things, and I love making others think and learn new things. I am a voracious reader, and I love the word "voracious." I just realized that I've used the word "love" entirely too much thus far. I sing in the shower. I sing in the car. I pretty much sing a lot, and I like to think I'm decent at it. If you give me grape juice, I'll be your friend. I will also be your friend if you love on me (examples include giving me a hug, rubbing my back or arm, playing with my hair, cuddling with me, etc.). I have two mottos in life: Any dress with pockets is a dress worth having, and any man who wears bow ties is a man worth dating (I will acknowledge that there are exceptions to these rules, as with all rules). Semi-finally, but most importantly, I am an utterly depraved sinner saved by God's unfailing grace and love. I will leave you with this french proverb: "A l'œuvre, on connaît l'artisan."
This entry was posted in Silly and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment